1 (edited by reviewum.com 2007-07-12 06:32)

Topic: Should I Stick With PunBB for my next project or Switch To vBulletin?

Hey Everyone!

First off, I'm a huge fan of PunBB.  I've been using it for 2 years on my inkjet forum and it works PERFECTLY.  I even made a donation to show my support.   I've installed a few simple mods, but nothing major.

I'm in the process of starting a new community based site and wanted to use PunBB as my core... even using it as my user management system to base the rest of my custom built CMS off of. 

Here's my dilemma: This community will need more bells and whistles than my inkjet forum community... for example, Private Messaging.   I know... I know.. there is a PM mod, but here's the big question... at what point does it make sense to move to another forum software (don't stone me) instead of putting hacks on hacks?    Is it safe to assume that a forum like SMF that has PM built into it will be more "secure" and less problematic during core upgrades then punBB using a mod and hoping that when the core is upgraded, the mod will still work?  Also, how often does one mod install interfere with another?   And, are mods usually built to the same quality standard as the punBB core?

This is just an example, so don't get hung up on the PM mod... it could very well be any one of many mods that effect the DB and make a lot of changes to a lot of pages.   

Am I making any sense?   I need help / reassurance that sticking with PunBB is the right thing to do.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and comments!

Rob Ludlow 
www.Nifty-Stuff.com - Repository of all Stuff Nifty!
www.reviewum.com - Professor Ratings + Teacher Reviews

Re: Should I Stick With PunBB for my next project or Switch To vBulletin?

1.3 is coming soon(just a guess) so extensions will make mods a lot easier to handle. my 2 cents, stick with punbb.

~James
FluxBB - Less is more

reviewum.com wrote: