Topic: cloak e-mail addresses!

E-mail harvesters are collecting users' email addresses from the mailto links on the profile pages! What I usually do is, on the server side, replace the @ in the e-mail address with "_at_" (or some other symbol), and then replace it back in JavaScript, outputting something like this:

<SCRIPT>email='<A HREF="mail'+'to:'+'someone_at_somewhere.com">someone_at_somewhere.com</A>'; document.write(email.replace(/_at_/gi, '@'))</SCRIPT>

Most browsers will be able to display this correctly - meanwhile, the e-mail harvesters will have problems, as they look only at the source HTML without first running the scripts. I have been using this method since over two years now to cloak e-mail addresses on various sites, and it's been incredibly effective smile

Re: cloak e-mail addresses!

Well yes and no. The reason I don't like it is because you can't make mailto: links that actually work the way they are supposed to. People will have to edit the To field in their e-post software. Also, you can choose in your profile whether the e-mail address should be visible or not. People who choose to have their e-mail address visible (it's not the default setting) do so at their own "risk".

"Programming is like sex: one mistake and you have to support it for the rest of your life."

Rickard wrote:

The reason I don't like it is because you can't make mailto: links that actually work the way they are supposed to. People will have to edit the To field in their e-post software.

huh?

look here, works fine:

http://www.synapse-audio.com/contact.php

Rickard wrote:

People who choose to have their e-mail address visible (it's not the default setting) do so at their own "risk".

yes, that's the problem - not all users are aware of the risk.

also, being able to safely display your email address would just be nice, wouldn't it? smile