Topic: PunBB vs. Punres

I have a question for the people that have been using PunBB for a long time now.  I'm new to PunBB, love it and will continue to use it. I just want to voice a little something that has come up and made things hard to do for a new person to PunBB.

I'm sure there just has to be some reason for it....but why Punres?  Why split out all the modifications/troubleshooting/Q&A/advice and discussions out between two seperate websites. It can be very hard to track down the information you are looking for when it is split between the two sites and you have fumble/switch between the two. What happened to make the split?

Just doesn't seem like it was a good decision for the community on the whole.

Re: PunBB vs. Punres

Because the PunBB forums are devoted to running the forum software and PunRes is devoted to modifications/styles. I don't think Rickard was especially in the mood to right the code for a mod database like PunRes.

Part of the problem is probably the mods here, including me, should really just close any topics relating to modifications with a message "get thee to Punres. I'm not entirely sure still having a modification forum here helps much either.

Or Plugins, although PunRes doesn't really support them

Interesting.  I just figure it would have been much easier and better for the community to keep it all in one place. I don't know about the whole database thing, but it just would have been and still would be far easier if they were combined.

6 (edited by Smartys 2006-06-22 19:39)

They were together for 1.1.x (or rather, PunBB had a set of forums for mods)

It would make more sense to have one port of call for modifications..... punres

Actually what I'd really like, is a unique login for both, I didn't wanted to register there just for the hacks and support... but I had to.

No I disagree on that.
I personally just use the same username and password for both bb and res.