1 (edited by HelpPalestine 2009-01-07 12:10)

Topic: New to punBB. Please help.

Hi guys,

I am new to punBB (having flirted with phpBB3 and bbpress) and need help with a couple of topics...

1. As my forum is new, i don't want to force people into looking at a list of forums when there is only one forum. Is there any such setting that makes the index page be the only forum or do i need to to a mod rewrite for that? (Hope that makes sense).

2. How do I integrate punBB into my existing site? The existing site is laden with PHP, so I need to figure out how to mix the two.

3. Is it possible to remove the "powered by punBB part". I agree that credit should be given where it is due, but there is a certain level of security which comes through obscurity.

Many thanks for this great software.

Re: New to punBB. Please help.

1.- No, there are not.

2.- What kind of integration? Users, posts, etc.

3.- You can make it an image.

1. Okay.
2. General layout (although the layout is controlled through PHP).
3. Is there any resource which states my obligations so I can make sure I stay within them?

Thanks

HelpPalestine wrote:

3. Is it possible to remove the "powered by punBB part". I agree that credit should be given where it is due, but there is a certain level of security which comes through obscurity.

Security is obtained via being secure, not through obscurity. Plus, anyone who knows enough to concentrate on your resources couldn't give a monkeys whether you identify it or not. They can glean that information extremely easily themselves. Security through obscurity is complete and utter bunkum. Just don't run any insecure apps if you want security, and make sure you have correct restrictions inplace.

Would you not agree, though, that if a security issue was discovered in PunBB that the vandals would simply google for "Powered by PunBB" to identify all the forums that they could gain access to?

6 (edited by MattF 2009-01-07 14:50)