1 (edited by ontap 2005-09-19 13:07)

Topic: Steps to Integrate Login/Logout

I've seen a bunch of different posts on this topic and none of them was really doing the job for me -- probably b/c I'm fairly new to PHP and didn't quite get what other people were doing. If you're looking for simple steps to simply use PunBB's user login system across your site (ie: having a box on the homepage where people can sign in, or that conversely recognizes that they're already signed in and offers them the option to sign out) here's a pretty simple way to do it.

1. For practice purposes, create a new blank php file called "pun_test.php".

2. Put the following two lines at the top:
define('PUN_ROOT', './forums');
include 'forums/include/common.php';

In the first line, ./forums should be the relative path to your PunBB files from the pun_test.php file. In the second line, forums should be replaced with whatever you have called that folder.

3. I chose to put the login/logout stuff in a function. That way I can add it to any page on my site just by calling the function. For example purposes, make another php file and call it login_function.inc.php. The ".inc" isn't necessary, but as your site gets more complex it will help you keep different types of files organized.

4. Your pun_test.php file needs to know the location of your function file, so add the following line:
include './login_function.inc.php'
Again, that path is assuming it's in the same folder as pun_test.php. If not, you'll need to change your path accordingly.

5. Last thing you'll need in your pun_test.php file is the actual call to the function. I called the function login_menu, so all you need to add is:
login_menu();

Your finished pun_test.php file should look like this:

<?php

login_menu();
?>

6. Now for the function. The first thing you need to do is name the function you're going to define.
<?php

function login_menu() {