Topic: Some advice on my modded Latest Topics

I am no coder but I managed to whip this Latest Topics up using various code. I am not sure if it is correct but it does work. I would just like someone to tell me if everything in here is required or not. I have no clue what the censoring area of the code does. I am assuming that if censoring is turned on in the admin panel the results are shown here. One thing I do not understand is why I need to set the make topics displayed to (6) in order to show (5). However, if I remove the censoring code then a setting of (5) is (5). Anyway, just need someone to pick out the code that I need in here:

<?php

showRecent(); // Set amount of posts to be displayed here

function showRecent($show=10) {
    global $lang_common, $db, $pun_config, $pun_user, $db_prefix;
    $max_subject_length = 20;

$order_by = 't.last_post';
    $forum_sql = '';

$show = intval($show);
    if ($show < 1 || $show > $show_max_topics)
    $show = 6;
// Fetch $show topics
    $result = $db->query('SELECT t.id, t.poster, t.subject, t.posted, t.last_post FROM '.$db->prefix.'topics AS t INNER JOIN '.$db->prefix.'forums AS f ON f.id=t.forum_id LEFT JOIN '.$db->prefix.'forum_perms AS fp ON (fp.forum_id=f.id AND fp.group_id=3) WHERE (fp.read_forum IS NULL OR fp.read_forum=1) AND t.moved_to IS NULL'.$forum_sql.' ORDER BY '.$order_by.' DESC LIMIT '.$show) or error('Unable to fetch topic list', __FILE__, __LINE__, $db->error());

$show_count = 0;
    if ( !$db->num_rows($result) ) return $output;
    while ( ($show_count < $show) && ($cur_topic = $db->fetch_assoc($result)) ) {
        $temp = '';

while ($cur_topic = $db->fetch_assoc($result)) {
        if ($pun_config['o_censoring'] == '1')
     $cur_topic['subject'] = censor_words($cur_topic['subject']);
    $subject_truncated = pun_htmlspecialchars($cur_topic['subject']);

if (pun_strlen($cur_topic['subject']) > $max_subject_length)